Home‎ > ‎Squadron News‎ > ‎

McGuire Squadron Members Receive Promotions and Awards

posted Dec 1, 2020, 10:10 AM by William Petzinger   [ updated Dec 1, 2020, 10:23 AM ]

JOINT BASE MCGUIRE-DIX-LAKEHURST (November 30, 2020) -- Civil Air Patrol’s Maj Thomas B. McGuire Composite Squadron promoted and recognized members for their achievements during the squadron’s most recent promotion night.

Cadets Mikayla Hamilton and Maici Mintchwarner successfully completed the second phase of the cadet program and was promoted to Cadet Second Lieutenant. He received the Brig Gen Bill Mitchell Award, given in honor of Maj Gen William "Billy" Mitchell, former Deputy Chief of the Army Air Service and military aviation visionary.

Cadets Margaret Achanzar and Kaya Kraft were both promoted to Cadet Master Sergeant for successfully completing Achievement 5 in Phase II of the Civil Air Patrol cadet program and received the Charles Lindbergh Award. The award was named after the legendary aviator Charles Lindbergh, the first person to fly solo, non-stop, across the Atlantic Ocean, aboard the "Spirit of St. Louis." in 1927.

Capt. Douglas Davis, 1st Lt James Keedy, 2d Lt Joseph Podesta and 1st Lt Jeffrey Polizzi received the Benjamin O. Davis, Jr. Award. It’s given to senior members who complete level two of Civil Air Patrol’s professional development program.

1st Lt Frank D'Agostino and 2d Lt James Hoschek received the Grover Loening Award. It’s is given to senior members who complete level three of Civil Air Patrol’s professional development program.

Squadron members also received the Disaster Relief Ribbons for participating in missions during the COVID-19 pandemic. These missions included sewing masks, staffing food banks and assisting at COVID testing sites.

Cadets: C/MSgt Margaret Achanzar; C/Amn Michaela Clark; C/Capt Lorenzo Diventura; C/SSgt Charles Durr; C/Amn Savannah Durr; C/2dLt Mikhayla Hamilton; C/CMsgt Jessica Hoschek; C/CMSgt Mckenzie Keedy; C/2dLt Maici Mintc/hwarner; C/1stLt Joseph Podesta; C/TSgt Aaron Sperry; and C/Amn Alicia Sperry.

Senior members: 1st Lt Frank D'Agostino; 2d Lt Olga Durr; SSgt Nicholas Freeman; Maj Todd Hamilton; 2d Lt James Hoschek; 2d Lt Joy Hoschek; 1st Lt James Keedy; 2d Lt Joseph Podesta; and Maj AlyciaRae Weaver.

Maj Todd Hamilton, representing of NJ Wing Group 225, virtually presented members with their awards via Zoom. Maj Hamilton is Deputy Commander of Senior Members for the McGuire Composite Squadron.

Civil Air Patrol, the longtime all-volunteer U.S. Air Force auxiliary, is the newest member of the Air Force’s Total Force. In this role, CAP operates a fleet of 560 aircraft, performs about 90 percent of continental U.S. inland search and rescue missions as tasked by the Air Force Rescue Coordination Center and is credited by the AFRCC with saving an average of 80 lives annually. CAP’s 60,000 members also perform homeland security, disaster relief and drug interdiction missions at the request of federal, state and local agencies. In addition, CAP plays a leading role in aerospace/STEM education, and its members serve as mentors to over 25,000 young people participating in CAP’s Cadet Programs.

For information about membership in the McGuire Composite Squadron please contact Maj Bill Petzinger at (609) 306-0966.

- 30 -